Warren, NH: Population 873 plus… one other thing

After exiting the Kancamagus Highway, I passed through Warren, NH, which right or wrong immediately struck me as tiny and strange. I passed school buses parked in people’s driveways, houses and garages overflowing with what seemed to be random debris, and then I thought I saw something.

“What? No,” I thought. “Right? A church probably.”

Five minutes later I couldn’t stand it so I turned around to double check.

Huh.

Turns out I wasn’t hallucinating, there in fact is a NASA ballistic missile sitting self-consciously in the middle of town. Interesting.

The missile was donated by Henry Asselin in 1971 in honor of Warren-born U.S. Senator Norris Cotton, who from what I can tell didn’t have anything to do with NASA but was the only senator in the region to vote against the Civil Rights Act of 1964.

Leave a Reply

