Boston, MA: Rain, Books, Kate

When I arrived in Boston it was beautiful out, but by the next day it was very cold and very wet, so I ended up spending most of my time in the Back Bay/Newbury Street area near where I parked. Turns out I left my raincoat at home! I stayed with my friend Kate in Somerville, a small suburb just north of the city near Cambridge, where we started the night by eating AMAZING veggie burgers at a bar called Christopher’s, and ended at 3am watching DVR-ed episodes of The Office and the Colbert Report with her boyfriend in their beautiful apartment, which I’ve dubbed “the beautiful apartment with a guest room and a HUGE kitchen.”

The next morning I hit the T and headed into town to wander a bit. I’d been dying to see Trinity Church and the Boston Public Library, so I headed straight over to Copley Square, where both are located. Trinity Church was originally founded in 1733 and rebuilt in 1873 after the Great Boston Fire of 1872. The design of the rebuilding constituted an entire new American architectural style called Richardsonian Romanesque. Neat! I thought it was especially striking in context amongst all the skyscrapers and taxis.

From there, I skipped across Copley Square to the Boston Public Library. I am in LOVE with this library, it is really beautiful and truly deserving of the books and history that it houses.

These two statues flank the entrance, and inside there’s a beautiful courtyard with a fountain and cafe tables.

I spent a good bit of time exploring the place, but didn’t get too many pictures because I got so distracted by everything. So many books! OOOh exhibitions! Oooh a history of print-making!

On the first floor there was this great exhibit called Choosing to Participate, which sought to “inspire visitors to consider the consequences of their everyday choices – to discover how “little things are big” – and to make a difference in their own communities.” There were a bunch of interactive displays that let visitors observe and really almost participate in both small and far-reaching personal and historical stories of community participation. Very cool!

After hangin at the library I took a stroll down swankified Newbury St. and checked out a few art galleries and expensive boutiques before shivering bedraggledly into Newbury Comics and then to nextdoor Trident Booksellers and Cafe.

Newbury Comics sold me a SWEET and cheap Small Sins CD that I’ve already made very good use of, and Trident sold me a super foamy mocha latte, a chicken applesauce sandwich and a cup of broccoli soup, swiftly siphoning away the remaining contents of my damp wallet. I sat at the coffee bar at Trident next to an attractive Russian who muttered violently to himself about the physics textbook he was studying in between taking breaks to watch t.A.T.u. videos on youtube and join in my conversation with the baristas about the Discovery Channel show that was playing on the TV above the bar. Apparently the cool looking shark we were discussing was actually not a shark but the largest known species of fish! “Eees feesh, not a shark thees. Largest feesh.”

I had a great time with Kate, but I wasn’t especially sad to leave Boston, especially after trying to navigate the tangled highway systems on the way out. Next time I go to Boston I will be sure to equip myself with a waterproof parka and warm boots.

One response to “Boston, MA: Rain, Books, Kate

  1. the "Kate" of this post

    Hey StephT – thought it was only appropriate to comment on your post about my town! I’m glad you liked my apt and had a good time here, despite the disgusting beantown weather (welcome to my life). Also, your observations about Trinity church are the same ones my mom made when I took her around town 2 years ago – and what prompted her to take about a million photos of the juxtaposition between the church and the John Hancock building right behind it (thats an hour of my life I will never see again). Anyway, so happy you were able to start your trek in Boston and with ME!

Leave a Reply

