Friend of the Day: Angry Dog

Well hey! This is my new friend Angry Dog, he’s from Connecticut. I was on my way up to Providence when I realized it was way past dinner time, so I wandered into a little town called Old Saybrook, where I found this place:

Pat’s Kountry Kitchen was mostly empty by the time I got there. There was one table of six truckers still eating and one family of 10 finishing up at an adjacent table. Pat’s is special for a couple of reasons: a sign out front said it had been voted the best seafood restaurant in Connecticut (I ordered a veggie burger), they served me the best grilled summer squash I think I’ve ever had, and the place was still decorated for Christmas. I’m not sure if the Christmas decorations were a gimmick or just laziness, but there were definitely teddy bears in Christmas hats and a couple portraits of Santa haphazardly strewn about between the antique blue plates and a green wooden arrow pointing up with Jesus’ face carved at the top.

My meal was delicious, fast and cheap, so when I left I snapped a couple pictures like the one above to celebrate the first roadside meal of my trip. This was when I met Angry Dog for the first time.

While I was waiting for a couple of cars to pull out of the parking lot so I could get a shot of the front, I wandered over to the side of the restaurant to document the “Best Seafood in Connecticut” claim. As I inched further and further to the left away from the spotlight, the silence was broken a RUSH of air and growling objection from Angry, who had awaken from his nap to run as far as his rope would let him, which turned out to be about 8 inches from my left knee.

“Oh hi,” I said.

“I HATE YOU,” Angry said.

“Maybe we just need to get to know each other?”

“I HATE YOU I HATE YOU I HATE YOU.”

“I’m not hurting your restaurant, don’t worry- I’m celebrating!”

“I HATE YOU SO MUCH FOREVER I CAN’T EVEN BREATHE.”

After a few minutes of discussion, I think we found some middle ground, making Angry my friend of the day. Here he is again, perfectly captured I think:

4 responses to “Friend of the Day: Angry Dog

  1. Angry Dog….is angry.

  2. Also, you totally stopped at that restaurant when you saw the heart shaped neon “open” sign in the window.

  3. “I HATE YOU SO MUCH FOREVER I CAN’T EVEN BREATHE.”

    I’ve been thinking the same thing about my bosses all day at work!! I like this dog.

  4. Hmm, that dog looks FIERCE! As Tyra would say…

Leave a Reply

